A first dive in Hurghada is not a five-minute dip off a pontoon. All four programmes we list are full boat days with an instructor beside you and lunch in between, and three of them are two dives — and they cost between €45 and €60. Nobody asks for a certification; what they ask for is a morning and a form.

How much is a try dive in Hurghada?

Two divers next to a large turtle on the reef
Photo: Ahmed M Ali, via Google Maps

€45 at Diving Star for two dives to a maximum of 7 metres, equipment, boat, lunch and hotel transfer inside Hurghada. €48 at Dive Academy Red Sea for a boat day with a guide, tank and weights, lunch, drinks and equipment.

€50 at Gagoblue for two boat dives with German-speaking instructors, all equipment, lunch, drinks and the Hurghada transfer, plus a €5 daily reserve tax. €95 per person at Funnydivers, which no longer prints a couple rate, with equipment, the PADI manual and certification, lunch, coffee, tea, water, soft drinks and free Hurghada transfer.

From what age, and how deep?

Couple underwater with an instructor’s OK sign on a guided dive
Photo: Lidok Lido4ek, via Google Maps

Diving Star is the one operator here that publishes both numbers: minimum age 10, maximum depth 7 metres. The other three publish neither. If you are booking for a child, write to us: the school gives its age and depth limits in writing before the booking is taken. Depth on a try dive is always shallow and always the instructor’s decision, not yours.

What do you need to bring?

An instructor holding a first-time diver underwater, both giving the OK sign
Photo: Udo, via Google Maps

Swimwear, a towel and sunscreen — that is the whole list on every one of the four, because equipment is part of each programme. Add €5 in cash if you are going with Gagoblue, for the daily nature-reserve tax. A completed medical questionnaire is standard for anything beyond a try dive; for the try dive itself, be honest with the instructor about heart, lung, ear and medication history.

Diving Star is the only operator publishing both numbers: from 10 years old, maximum 7 metres. The other three publish neither, and we get the school’s written answer before a booking for a child is taken.

Two dives or one?

Three of the four programmes are two dives; Dive Academy Red Sea does not publish a number of dives at all, and we confirm it before booking. Two dives matter more than it sounds: the first one is spent learning to breathe and to stop fighting your own buoyancy, and the second is the one you remember. A single-dive taster at a hotel pool teaches you the equipment; a two-dive boat day teaches you the sea.

Which one should you take?

ProgrammePricePublished age / depthTransferExtras
Diving Star, Discover Scuba€45from 10 years, max 7 minside Hurghada included€25 per car from Makadi, El Gouna, Sahl Hasheesh
Dive Academy Red Sea, Intro€48not publishedincluded in Hurghada€15 from outside Hurghada, unit not stated
Gagoblue, Schnuppertauchen€50not publishedinside Hurghada included€5/day tax, €10 out-of-town (unit not stated), €5/day computer
Funnydivers, Introductory Dive€60 (one) / €115 (two)not publishedfree inside Hurghada€20/day/car from outside

What do two people pay?

Funnydivers is the only one of the four that prints a couple’s price outright: €115 for two against €60 for one. The other three publish a single figure without marking it per person, so we confirm what two people pay before you commit — that is a question for the school, not an arithmetic problem. If you speak German, Gagoblue is the school that says so on the programme; if you want a published age limit for a ten-year-old, Diving Star is the only one that gives you one.

What comes after?

A coral reef slope with a diver in the blue near the surface
Photo: Florian Draxler (Keugon), via Google Maps

If the second dive settles it, the next step is a certification, and in Hurghada that costs €250, €325 or €360 depending on what the school puts inside the price. If it does not, a day of snorkelling from a boat costs €100 to €160 for the whole hull and asks nothing of you at all.

Updated 3 September 2026. Prices, durations, age limits and inclusions are taken from the operators’ cards.