Scuba diving in Krabi: 12 options from Tambon Ao Nang
Scuba diving — Krabi

Scuba diving — Krabi

12 options from ฿1,500 per person. Departures from Tambon Ao Nang, Aqua Vision Ao Nang, Sawasdee Divers Krabi. Duration 5h 30min – 9h.

Krabi's water opens at ฿1,500 (about $42) per person — Aqua Vision's half day by speedboat to the Ao Nang bay islands, a boat capped at twelve, with gear, lunch, water and fruit and a free transfer from Ao Nang, Ao Nam Mao and Nopparat Thara.

฿1,500 — ฿15,500 From
5h 30min — 9h Duration
4.9 / 5 5 255 reviews
12options

The short version

What it costs

Diving starts at ฿2,900 (about $80) for two dives at the local islands with Local Diving Krabi, whose price list gives the sum without naming a unit. From there the ladder runs up to ฿5,900 per person at Railay Dive Center for the King Cruiser wreck, Shark Point and Anemone Reef.

Open Water courses stand apart at ฿14,500 and ฿15,500, and there too the unit is unnamed.

Day trips run from ฿1,500 (about $42) to ฿5,900; the courses are named above and sit outside this ladder:

  • ฿1,500 (about $42) per person — Aqua Vision, snorkelling at the Ao Nang bay islands, half a day on a speedboat for up to twelve.
  • ฿1,900 (about $53) per person — Kon-Tiki, a snorkelling day around the Ao Nang archipelago, about seven hours with lunch on board; the route is unguided in the water.
  • ฿2,900 (about $80), unit not named by the operator — Local Diving Krabi, two dives at the local islands, with divemaster, gear, transfers and lunch.
  • ฿3,400 (about $94) per person — Aqua Vision, two dives at the same islands, with a maximum of four divers to a guide.
  • ฿4,300 (about $119) per person — Sawasdee Divers, two dives at Phi Phi; a companion riding along as a passenger is priced separately.
  • ฿5,900 (about $163) per person — Railay Dive Center, the King Cruiser wreck with Anemone Reef and Shark Point, two or three dives depending on your certification.

Options 12

Ao Nang Archipelago Snorkelling Day Trip from Krabi (Kon-Tiki) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Ao Nang Archipelago Snorkelling Day Trip from Krabi (Kon-Tiki)

Thirteen islands forty-five minutes off Ao Nang beach, three snorkelling stops from the dive boat Ingmarie, back on the beach at 15:00. ฿1,900 (about $53) for an adult and ฿1,500 for a child of 4–12 — the operator publishes both, so the price is per head. No snorkel guide in the water on this particular trip: you must be able to swim on your own.

7h 15min 4.9(602)
from ฿1,900 per adult for the snorkelling day in the Ao Nang archipelago
View details
Ao Nang Bay Islands Snorkelling by Speedboat — Half Day (Aqua Vision) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Ao Nang Bay Islands Snorkelling by Speedboat — Half Day (Aqua Vision)

฿1,500 (about $42) per snorkeller on the same speedboat the divers use: pickup at 07:00–07:30, ashore again by 12:30, capacity twelve. The operator’s price table heads the column “Snorkeler”, which is what makes the unit per head rather than per boat. The ฿400 park entrance is separate.

5h 30min up to 12 guests 4.5(103)
from ฿1,500 per snorkeller on the dive speedboat to the Ao Nang Bay Islands
View details
Ao Nang Bay Islands by Speedboat — Two Dives, Half Day (Aqua Vision) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Ao Nang Bay Islands by Speedboat — Two Dives, Half Day (Aqua Vision)

฿3,400 (about $94) per diver for two dives in the Ao Nang Bay Islands, part of the Phi Phi marine national park, on the speedboat Andaman Dream. Pickup at 07:00–07:30, back by 12:30 — half a day rather than ten hours. Capacity twelve, with a maximum of four divers per guide; a third dive is ฿900.

5h 30min up to 12 guests 4.5(103)
from ฿3,400 per diver for two dives at the Ao Nang Bay Islands from the speedboat
View details
Ao Nang Local Islands — Two Dives for Certified Divers (Local Diving Krabi) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Ao Nang Local Islands — Two Dives for Certified Divers (Local Diving Krabi)

฿2,900 (about $80) for two dives at the islands you can see from Ao Nang beach, on a traditional long-tail boat rather than a speedboat. Equipment, divemaster, hotel transfers within Ao Nang, lunch and insurance are in the price; the ฿400 national park fee per diver is not. A third dive is arranged on request at ฿3,400.

4.9(732)
from ฿2,900 price for 2 dives at the Ao Nang islands — the list doesn't say if per diver or per booking
View details
Discover Scuba Diving in Ao Nang — Two Try Dives (Sawasdee Divers Krabi) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Discover Scuba Diving in Ao Nang — Two Try Dives (Sawasdee Divers Krabi)

The PADI try-dive programme with no certification needed, from age ten. ฿4,190 (about $116) for two dives at the Ao Nang local islands, ฿5,190 at Phi Phi; ฿2,100 buys the pool session alone. Maximum two people per instructor in the sea, and the maximum depth is twelve metres.

up to 2 guests 5.0(614)
from ฿4,190 price for a try dive of 2 dives at the local islands — the page does not say per participant
View details
Discover Scuba at the Ao Nang Local Islands — Two Try Dives (Krabi Scuba Club) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Discover Scuba at the Ao Nang Local Islands — Two Try Dives (Krabi Scuba Club)

฿4,500 (about $125) per person for two try dives at the local islands, no licence needed — instructor, full gear, lunch and insurance included. The same day at Phi Phi is ฿5,900. The operator’s day-trip table is headed “Price / Pax”, which is what confirms the unit. Departures are daily from Nopparat Thara pier.

4.6(194)
from ฿4,500 per person for two try dives with an instructor at the local islands
View details
King Cruiser Wreck, Shark Point and Anemone Reef — Scheduled Dive Trip from Ao Nang — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

King Cruiser Wreck, Shark Point and Anemone Reef — Scheduled Dive Trip from Ao Nang

Kon-Tiki runs this one to a published calendar rather than daily: ten fixed dates between 11 November and 8 April. Two dives ฿4,000 (about $111), three dives ฿4,800. The King Cruiser is a car ferry that sank in 1997 between Phuket and Phi Phi; the operator calls it an advanced dive because of the depth and the currents.

4.9(602)
from ฿4,000 price for two dives on the special-trip dates — per diver or per booking not stated
View details
King Cruiser Wreck, Shark Point and Anemone Reef Fun Diving from Railay — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

King Cruiser Wreck, Shark Point and Anemone Reef Fun Diving from Railay

A daily three-dive day out of Railay from ฿5,900 (about $163): the King Cruiser wreck first, then Anemone Reef and Shark Point. Pickup 08:30, drop-off 17:30. Advanced Open Water and twenty logged dives are required for the wreck itself, minimum age eighteen; without Advanced you dive the other two sites.

9h 4.5(255)
from ฿5,900 per person for the King Cruiser dive day, 2 or 3 dives by certification level
View details
PADI Open Water Diver Course in Ao Nang, Krabi — Three Days (Local Diving) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

PADI Open Water Diver Course in Ao Nang, Krabi — Three Days (Local Diving)

฿14,500 (about $402) for the full three-day PADI Open Water Diver course, certification fees and course materials included, at a small Ao Nang centre with 732 Google reviews. A shorter PADI Scuba Diver certificate, valid to twelve metres, is ฿10,000 over two days.

4.9(732)
from ฿14,500 price for the 3-day PADI Open Water course — per student not stated
View details
PADI Open Water Diver Course in Krabi — Small Group of Four (The Dive Ao Nang) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

PADI Open Water Diver Course in Krabi — Small Group of Four (The Dive Ao Nang)

฿15,500 (about $430) for the Open Water course in a group capped at four students: pool training plus four dives, with courses starting every Saturday and Wednesday or on request. A shorter Scuba Diver certificate is ฿10,400, and a referral course for people who did the theory at home is the same ฿10,400.

up to 4 guests 4.8(352)
from ฿15,500 price for the Open Water course in a group of max 4 students — per student not stated
View details
Phi Phi Islands Dive Day from Ao Nang — Two Dives (Sawasdee Divers Krabi) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Phi Phi Islands Dive Day from Ao Nang — Two Dives (Sawasdee Divers Krabi)

฿4,300 (about $119) for two dives at Phi Phi, running daily from 1 November to 31 March. Groups are capped at four divers. A non-diving companion travels on the same boat for ฿2,500— that companion line is what shows the price is charged per head. Bring your own kit and the operator takes ฿300 off.

up to 4 guests 5.0(614)
from ฿4,300 per diver for 2 dives at Phi Phi
View details
Phi Phi Islands — Two Dives for Certified Divers (The Dive Ao Nang) — Krabi
Krabi · Scuba diving

Phi Phi Islands — Two Dives for Certified Divers (The Dive Ao Nang)

฿3,500 (about $97) for two dives at Phi Phi from November to May; from June to October the same centre runs the Ao Nang islands instead at ฿2,700. Lunch, non-alcoholic drinks and hotel transport are in the price, and every diver is covered by diving accident insurance. Equipment rental, if you need it, is ฿500 including a dive computer.

4.8(352)
from ฿3,500 price for 2 dives at Phi Phi — per diver not stated
View details

Compare all 12 side by side →

What's included

  • Snorkelling equipment
  • Pickup from your hotel
  • Lunch on board
  • Soft drinks, electrolyte drink, water, coffee and tea
  • Snacks and fresh fruit
  • A site briefing from the dive staff at every stop
  • A place on the speedboat Andaman Dream, capacity twelve
  • Lunch, drinking water and fresh fruit
  • Free round-trip transfers from Ao Nang, Ao Nammao and Nopparat Thara
  • Two dives with a dive guide, maximum four divers per guide

Not included

  • A snorkel guide in the water — this route is unguided in the water
  • Any personal spending on board
  • Marine national park entrance — ฿400 (about $11) for the Ao Nang Bay Islands
  • Private guide or private charter — on request
  • Marine national park entrance — ฿400 (about $11) for the Ao Nang Bay Islands, ฿600 for Phi Phi
  • Third dive on the trip — ฿900 (about $25)

Good to know

  • Independent swimmers who want reef time rather than a beach-hopping photo tour. Children from 4 have their own rate, but they will not be guided in the water either.
  • No snorkel guide accompanies you in the water on this route — the operator says so on the trip page. You should be able to swim and use a mask without help.
  • Reef-friendly sun cream, a towel and a rash guard — the boat is out from eight in the morning to three in the afternoon.
  • Snorkellers who want reefs and a small boat rather than a four-island photo circuit, and anyone travelling with a diver.
  • You should be comfortable swimming in open water. The operator does not publish a guided-in-water promise for snorkellers on this trip.
  • ฿400 (about $11) in cash for the park entrance, reef-safe sun cream and a rash guard.
  • Kon-Tiki’s centre is at 335/4-5 Na Thai, Tambon Ao Nang, Mueang Krabi 81180, on the main Ao Nang strip. Hotel pickup is included; the sample schedule has you meeting the guide on Ao Nang beach at 07:45, with departure at 08:00.
  • Aqua Vision Ao Nang, 252 Moo 6, Sai Thai, Muang Krabi 81000, TAT registration 34/00055. Free round-trip transfers from Ao Nang, Ao Nammao and Nopparat Thara are included. The boat is the speedboat Andaman Dream; pickup is 07:00–07:30 and return 12:30.
  • Local Diving is in Ao Nang, Mueang Krabi District, Krabi 81000, open 08:00–22:00 daily. Car and boat transfers from your hotel within the Ao Nang area are included in the trip price; pickup from Krabi town, Khlong Muang, Tub Kaek or Railay costs ฿400 (about $11) extra.
  • Sawasdee Divers Krabi, 259 Moo 4, T. Ao Nang, Amphur Muang, Krabi 81180. The centre has its own pool, used for the briefing and skills session on the pool option. Free hotel pickup in the Ao Nang area is included.

Scuba diving prices in Krabi

Price from, per option. Source — operator prices.

Operators: Kon-Tiki Krabi Diving & Snorkeling Center · Aqua Vision Diving Company · Local Diving Krabi · Sawasdee Divers Krabi · Krabi Scuba Club · Railay Dive Center · The Dive Ao Nang

What guests say in Krabi

4.9 5 255 reviews Average across every option in this destination, weighted by the number of reviews.
MK Michael Koller
Ao Nang Archipelago Snorkelling Day Trip from Krabi (Kon-Tiki)

My wife and I went for in total 9 dives with kon-tiki and enjoyed the islands in low season basically in private dive setup. Steve, Libby and Andreas took us on cool adventures including two caves. Plenty of marine life as dotted eagle rays and seahorses.

EN Emendatio Nous
Ao Nang Archipelago Snorkelling Day Trip from Krabi (Kon-Tiki)

Amazing experience! I felt very relaxed from the beginning. Everything was professional, safe, and well organized, with an individual approach to every diver. Despite different experience levels, everyone was well taken care of.

МИ Максим Иванов
Ao Nang Archipelago Snorkelling Day Trip from Krabi (Kon-Tiki)

A big choice of equipment. They also fill tanks here.

AV Anneleen Van Dyck
Ao Nang Bay Islands Snorkelling by Speedboat — Half Day (Aqua Vision)

I struggled finding a dive center in Ao Nang that could do 3 dives a day in the Ao Nang bay. Apparently this isn’t custom at Ao Nang, except for Aqua Vision dive center! They really know how to accommodate divers.

All reviews in Krabi →

FAQ

Is the price per person?
Yes. The operator publishes ฿1,900 (about $53) for an adult and ฿1,500 for a child aged 4 to 12 as two separate lines, which is what makes the unit per head rather than per boat. — Ao Nang Archipelago Snorkelling Day Trip from Krabi (Kon-Tiki)
How long is the trip?
Pickup is between 07:00 and 07:30 and you are back by 12:30 — roughly five and a half hours door to door, against ten or more on a slow boat. — Half Day (Aqua Vision)
Why is there a park fee if we do not leave Ao Nang bay?
Because the Ao Nang Bay Islands are inside the Phi Phi Marine National Park despite being in sight of the beach. The fee there is ฿400 (about $11), against ฿600 at Phi Phi itself. — Two Dives, Half Day (Aqua Vision)
Do I need a certification?
Yes — the price list marks these dive trips “For Certified Divers only”. If you are not certified, the operator’s Try Diving programme at the local islands is ฿3,500 (about $97) for two dives. — Two Dives for Certified Divers (Local Diving Krabi)
Do I need any experience?
No. Discover Scuba Diving is designed for people who have never breathed underwater. You must be comfortable in the water and in reasonably good health. — Two Try Dives (Sawasdee Divers Krabi)
Do I need a diving licence?
No. The operator lists this line as “Discover Scuba · Try Dive — No license needed”. An instructor is with you for both dives. — Two Try Dives (Krabi Scuba Club)
What are the other two dive sites?
Anemone Reef, a rock pinnacle covered in anemones, and Shark Point, a limestone ridge system that gives the whole area its name. — Scheduled Dive Trip from Ao Nang
Do I need Advanced Open Water?
For the King Cruiser wreck, yes. The published requirements are a minimum age of eighteen, a minimum of Open Water certification, Advanced Open Water for the wreck specifically, and twenty logged dives. Without Advanced you still dive Anemone Reef and Shark Point. — King Cruiser Wreck, Shark Point and Anemone Reef Fun Diving from Railay
What is the difference from the Scuba Diver course?
PADI Scuba Diver costs ฿10,000 (about $277), takes two days and certifies you to a maximum of twelve metres, always diving with a professional. Open Water takes three days, goes to eighteen metres and lets you dive with a buddy. Scuba Diver can be upgraded later. — Three Days (Local Diving)
How many students are in a group?
Four at most. The centre puts the cap in the product name — “Open Water Diver - Small Group” — and repeats it in the description. — Small Group of Four (The Dive Ao Nang)

ElyNot sure which one is yours? Ask Ely — she knows every tour in “Scuba diving”.Ask Ely

Three destinations divide the diving here: the bay islands right off Ao Nang, Phi Phi, and the King Cruiser wreck with Shark Point and Anemone Reef, which lie out towards Phuket. The same centres sell snorkelling places on the same boats, so a mixed group does not have to split up.

Where do the boats go, and what does each direction cost?#

The bay islands are the short day and the cheapest entry to two dives. Phi Phi costs more because of the crossing, not because of the dives. The wreck trips are the longest day of the three, and at Railay Dive Center the number of dives depends on your certification rather than on the price.

OperatorWhat you getPrice
Local Diving KrabiTwo dives at the Ao Nang local islands฿2,900 (about $80), unit not named
Aqua VisionTwo dives at the Ao Nang bay islands, speedboat, half a day฿3,400 (about $94) per person
The Dive Ao NangTwo dives at Phi Phi฿3,500 (about $97), unit not named
Kon-TikiKing Cruiser, Shark Point and Anemone Reef, two dives฿4,000 (about $111), unit not named
Sawasdee DiversTwo dives at Phi Phi฿4,300 (about $119) per person
Railay Dive CenterKing Cruiser and the same reefs, two or three dives by certification฿5,900 (about $163) per person

A first try dive, or the whole course?#

A try dive buys two supervised dives in the sea: Sawasdee Divers prints ฿4,190 (about $116) for two dives at the local islands and caps the group at two people per sea dive, with the pool session a separate ฿2,100 line; Krabi Scuba Club charges ฿4,500 per person at the local islands and ฿5,900 at Phi Phi.

A course is three days and ends in a certificate — ฿14,500 (about $402) at Local Diving Krabi, ฿15,500 at The Dive Ao Nang for a group of no more than four.

Why do half the prices not say who they are for?#

Because the operators' own price lists do not say. Local Diving prints “Local Islands (2 dives) — 2,900 Baht”, The Dive Ao Nang “Phi Phi Islands : 2 Dives — 3,500.00 THB”, Kon-Tiki gives ฿4,000 (about $111) for two dives and ฿4,800 for three in its calendar, and none of them names a unit.

A group cap of four students is a teaching ratio, not a billing unit, so it does not settle the question either — confirm the unit when you book rather than assuming per head.

What is worth checking before you book?#

  • Certification: Railay Dive Center gives “two or three dives depending on certification level”, and the King Cruiser wreck itself needs Advanced Open Water.
  • Who else is on the boat: Sawasdee prices a companion riding as a passenger separately, and Aqua Vision takes snorkellers on the same speedboat.
  • Park surcharges for divers are counted differently: The Dive Ao Nang lists ฿200 (about $6) per person per day for diving plus a ฿400 entrance valid three days, while Sawasdee collects the fee only if the rangers come aboard.
  • Rental: a dive computer is ฿300 (about $8) at Local Diving and Sawasdee, a full set with computer ฿500 at The Dive Ao Nang, nitrox ฿250 a tank.
  • The free pick-up zone ends at Ao Nang: Local Diving charges ฿400 (about $11) for Krabi Town, Khlong Muang, Tub Kaek and Railay, and The Dive Ao Nang does not serve Krabi Town or Railay at all.

Important

The park fee sits outside every price above and is paid in cash in baht on the day. The department's announcement puts the island zone at ฿400 (about $11) per adult and ฿200 per child, while several operators state ฿200 and ฿100 — ask your centre which figure it will collect before you sail.

Ely

Plan your trip with Ely

Ely · online
Hi, I'm Ely. You're looking at “Scuba diving”. What should I check: experience, kids or how long it lasts?